Windyn- Clintonville (Day 5)

Leave a comment
Windyn Hines

Today I shared my lunch with Calvin.  I made a salad from greens from our CSA and we ate the salad with a salad dressing I made.  I have difficulty following recipes, so the salad dressing turned into a rescue mission.  When I begin cooking with a recipe, I have all the intention of following the recipe word for word, but somewhere in the middle I forget and add a little of this and a little of that, substituting this for that…the result often yields something edible, even-times memorable.  Other times my experiments end in disaster.  Luckily, after substituting day-old red wine for red wine vinegar (hee hee), I was able to save this dressing by adding honey, rice vinegar, & salt.  

We also ate burritos filled with roasted root vegetables (from our CSA) and enchilada leftovers.  Any leftover can be jazzed up when wrapped in a pillowy tortilla, or so goes the belief in my house.  We are fortunate to have the most delicious tortillas, mailed to us from New Mexico by my mother-in-law.  No preservatives, no hydrogenated oils, no sugar.  They’re large and will hold up when overstuffed and wrapped into a burrito form.  I wish they sold something like that in Ohio…

Jeni’s ceramic dishes continue to excite meals.  Usually as a gentle reminder of place and of sharing glorious food.
Windyn_Day5b

Leave a Reply

