Jeni Hansen Gard – Old North Columbus – Day 6

1 comment
Jeni Hansen Gard

day 6 -2Today is the first day in well over 2 months that I can rest. It is hard to believe what I put my body through the past few months. Admittedly, there were moments of doubt and wondering if it was going to be worth it. The stress, anxiety, both personally and within my marriage was almost unbearable at times. But what you realize once its over and you find satisfaction in the authenticity of what you are doing and the value in what you are creating it provides a kind of peace like I have never experienced. Adversity might make you stronger but it also changes your perspective and that is where I see the value now. When everyone has left the house and the only sound I hear is the heaters constant running. I am reminded of why I wanted to do this project in the first place. Reasons that might not even matter now because this project isn’t about me. It’s about you the person reading this and it’s about the participants who are sharing meals with people and it’s about those people with whom meals have been shared.

This morning I had the pleasure of sharing one more meal with Lindsay before she headed back home to northern Ohio. Forrest prepared a breakfast quesadilla with potato, egg, and cheese. We topped it with homemade salsa that was canned over the summer. Later in the afternoon Forrest and I shared some friendship bread that Lauren Karle had given me at the opening yesterday evening. We met Lauren last summer on our research road trip when she was still in graduate school at K-State. Lauren has a warm spirit and similar to myself she enjoys the social aspect of making. Even though our first meeting was short we knew that our chance encounter was an important one. We stayed connected and she was in Columbus for a workshop with the Potters Council that allowed her to attend the opening reception. It was a joy to have her there and I look forward to how our friendship continues to grow.

One thought on “Jeni Hansen Gard – Old North Columbus – Day 6”

  1. Joseph Walker says:

    I love the borough map & the plates seem perfect for quesadillas!! I think you have great ideas and cannot wait to see what is next:)

Leave a Reply

