Windyn- Clintonville (Meal 15)

7 comments
Windyn Hines

Two weeks down everyone.  Great job!

Today is my birthday and we went to see an early morning movie at the Gateway.  Have you ever been to this theater?  I really like it!  Tuesdays are free popcorn day and Calvin and I shared popcorn out of one of Jeni’s bowls.

All the rain and melting of snow has made me feel like Spring is on her way.  I can’t wait.  

Below we shared a cheese plate with bread from Omega (located in the North Market) for dinner.  Calvin and I also co-made a birthday cake from Dinah Bucholz’s book, The Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook.  No matter how closely I follow the directions, I cannot seem to get the cakes to rise.  I know cake making is challenging when not using a boxed cake, but I’d like to master it one of these days.  I want to someday bake a tall, pillowy cake worthy of the one that I imagine Hermione gifting to Harry in the 3rd book.  Julie, Dan, any tips?

Windyn_14b     Windyn_14c

7 thoughts on “Windyn- Clintonville (Meal 15)”

  1. Song Of... says:

    Love everything about this post. Awesome looking food, HP references, and haha, popcorn.

  2. Woo! What a meal!

    As far as cake making tips… I think Julie might be the better coach. Some general tips which you might already know is to combine the dry ingredients first then slowly mix in the wet ingredients. Sometimes not mixing enough/thoroughly might cause the cake to not rise. Sometimes mixing & kneading too much might also make it not rise.

    Thats all I got. Sorry!

  3. Happy Birthday Windyn! I hope you have a nice day celebrating. I really like that your name is on the cake 🙂

  4. Julie Jent says:

    What an awesome birthday! And the secret to my perfectly pillowy beautiful cakes: cake mix 🙂

Leave a Reply

