Jeni Hansen Gard – Old North Columbus – Day 19

Leave a comment
Jeni Hansen Gard

Today after mulling over the pain I was experiencing I decided that I was going to eat alone. I am only human and today I felt I needed to set an intention with my meal and I decided it was best to eat alone. I planned and prepared the meal. Since Forrest left town I decided I was going to try not to buy any groceries and eat what we have at home. I settled on breakfast for dinner. It is something I enjoy and we had everything here. Although I did have to go to the store because I needed black beans and milk to make rice cakes with Ellice tomorrow evening. 

So here it is the issue from my persecutive: I believe women should have the right to a career, marriage, and a family if they so choose. If we want one of those things, two, three it doesn’t matter I truly believe all humans should be treated equal and given the opportunity to try. Why are we not? Why was I so naive the think we were? 

I am not going to dig much deeper into this but I did want to share my honest frustration. Because today after shedding tears I felt the most vulnerable I have felt in a while. I also felt real, honest, and now I am ready to stand up for what I believe. I believe I should not have to choose. 

Leave a Reply

