Jeni Hansen Gard – Old North Columbus – Day 26

3 comments
Jeni Hansen Gard

Today tops the list. Maybe 26 is my lucky number? I am not sure but we are 26 days into the project and I think today was my favorite shared meal’s. I had a wonderful day visit with my cousin Noah and then a dinner party in the evening. My cousin was visiting Dayton for work training and when he realized how close I was he asked if he could come for a visit. We went to The Crest Gastropub for lunch. Noah and Forrest had bison burgers and I had a lentil salad. Both were fantastic. The staff was so kind they even offered to plate the food on the dishes before I  asked. Everyone was curious about the project and it was fun to tell people what has been going on. At the end of the meal they even washed the dishes which was an added bonus since I am used to washing them in the restroom! Following lunch we went to the gallery to see the exhibition. I gave Noah a little background information on the project before we arrived but could still sense a little confusion. He admitted to not being completely into art himself but he was open to learning and trying to understand. Being in the gallery explaining the project and letting Noah experience the project for himself was a beautiful moment. His perspective and open mind allowed him to truly experience the project in a way I hope everyone can. After a short intro of what was in the gallery he looked at each portrait read about the participants and asked me questions about how I found them. He started to read the vinyl writing on the wall and he stopped momentarily and read out loud “The shared meals that take place over the course of the project are the central focus of Partake Columbus.” He said I get it and gave me a hug. It was a really special moment for me to share with my cousin. It isn’t just my cousin, I felt in some way my cousin was standing in for everyone else in my family who wasn’t able to make it to the show. It filled me with so much joy to share this project with him. On your way out of the gallery we saw Ellice and Micah and stopped to talk for a while. It was so nice to finally meet Micah in person after hearing so much about him.
We stopped at Jeni’s Ice Cream for dessert in the late afternoon and then Noah headed back to Dayton. The day continued since Forrest and I had dinner plans. Agnes Burris and her husband Brian had invited a group to their home for dinner. I didn’t bring the dishes but I have a really nice evening sharing a meal with so many wonderful people! Agnes is an artist and runs EASE Gallery where I showed my work a few times last year. It a great gallery with great people, check it out if you have a chance!

3 thoughts on “Jeni Hansen Gard – Old North Columbus – Day 26”

  1. Song Of... says:

    Sounds like an AWESOME day Jeni! 😀 I might be a little biased 😉 So glad to hear more of how Noah connected with your work, Urban Art Space’s exhibition space/the installation of your show, and his eureka moment!

    Also – thank you for sharing Agnes’ work! It’s really beautiful and I enjoy it very much. I hope to meet her sometime. Especially since she runs a gallery 😉 😉 Hahaha ❤

    I am so happy for your heart ~~~ That you felt a fullness with Noah's understanding and appreciation for your work ~~~ On behalf of your family in a way ~~~ That is a beautiful thing! Your cousin loves you well. 🙂 & I'm sure the rest of them try their best as well 😀

  2. Omi says:

    Jeni!
    I’m so happy Noah was able to see you. When he told me he was going to Dayton, I said he had to try to visit you! Your post and picture made my day. I wish with all my heart I could come and see your work in person! ❤️ (Remember that time Noah and I drove to Michigan to surprise you for the opening of a show at Hope College and you were in Myrtle Beach for cheer?) Too funny! Glad he found you this time.

    You are amazing! Partake Columbus is very intriguing. How did you ever come up with the idea? I feel my appreciation of art has deepened from your work. It’s about more than your beautiful dishes. YOUR pieces are bringing people together. They are the fuel!
    I love you! I’m excited to continue to follow along on your journey. Congrats to Forrest as well!

  3. Thank you both for the comments! Omi, I miss you dearly Noah shared lots of pictures of the kids with me and I even watched a video of Titus laughing in a tub and saw Collette with the princess quilt. It was all kinds of wonderful! Lets catch up soon:)

Leave a Reply

