Windyn- Clintonville (Meal 27)

2 comments
Windyn Hines

Sweet potato burritos!  Recipe courtesy of my father.  These unsuspecting burritos have a really nice texture from the mashed sweet potatoes mixed with black beans and corn.  The burritos have great flavor that comes from the garlic, cumin, coriander, and lime juice seasonings.  The sweet potatoes were from our CSA, as was the Swiss chard in the onion/garlic sauté on the side.  

For some reason I have a reluctance toward cooking winter-hearty greens, unless its easy to add them in a soup or egg scramble.  I had so much Swiss chard from the CSA (three weeks worth!  Did someone mention its been cold and that we’re just now emerging from deep winter?) that it intimidated me.  I kept putting off using it.  I finally succumbed and prepared the chard by cutting the leaves into ribbons and sautéing it with onions and garlic in olive oil.  And oh my goodness!  It turned out soo good.  Who knew winter-hearty greens, which I sometimes find quite uninspiring, could have such bold and distinct flavor creating a truly inspiring dish?  Yum!

2 thoughts on “Windyn- Clintonville (Meal 27)”

  1. Windyn, I am so happy the chard turned out for you. I just planted some rainbow chard today! Last summer my parents planted so much they didn’t know what to do with it so Forrest and I took it home and did a very similar thing with it. Yum! oh and I second what Julie said:)

Leave a Reply

